Mason Jar Matchbox (Tutorial)

photo

I love candles, matches and fire. So naturally I would have candles and matches lying around and honestly, matchboxes gets the job done but just isn’t pretty enough. The creative/vain person in me sought a remedy that. I took to Pinterest and found this pin from The Burlap Bag. Unfortunately I do not have STRIKE ANYWHERE matches. So I thought of a way to go around that problem. It turned out to be a cute and simple idea/project.

Β 

Things needed:Β 

  • Mason Jar of your choice
  • Matches
  • The original matchbox the matches were in
  • Pencil, scissors, small piece of paper, glue

Steps:

  • Place all matches in jar and cut off the strike-able parts on the original box in to (roughly) 4 strips.
  • Because I used the elite collection mason jars from Balls, there were already designs on the canning lid. I found something that was the roughly the size of the circle (that was on the lid) and traced that on to a small piece of paper.
  • Cut out the circle and glue the cut strips and then remove the excess hanging off the circle.
  • Glue the strike-able circle on to the lid and you’re done!

NOTE: I felt safer with a completely closed lid although the original idea is very convenient. I love fire but I don’t wantΒ unnecessaryΒ accidents to happen…

Posted on July 12, 2012, in DIYs & Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

