Homemade Laundry Detergent (Tutorial)

soap

I’ve been using my own laundry detergent for about half a year and I’m never going back.Β Mind you, when I first found this idea on the web I was completely skeptical but after I read the reviews, I figured that all these people can’t be lying. So I gave it a shot.

You will need:

  • Borax
  • Washing Soda
  • Whatever brand of laundry bar soap you prefer
  • Regular, Non-Iodized Salt
  • Scent Crystals (any brand, optional)

Steps:

  • 1 cup of borax
  • 1 cup of washing soda
  • 1 cup of salt
  • 1 cup of crushed scent crystals
  • 2 cup of ZOTE, grated ( that’s the brand I used)
  • Blend the scent crystals and laundry soap (set on high speed – grate; your end result should be like a fine powder), place into your container, and you are done! (Now wasn’t that easy?)

Notes & Tips:

  • Blend one ingredient that’s already in powder form with something that’s not, example: blend Borax with the scent crystals, and blend salt with the grated laundry soap. This tip is especially important for the laundry soap because it tends to clump up when blended alone. You can just throw the last powder ingredient into your container along with the blended items.
  • This 5 cups recipe produces about 80 loads worth of soap for small washes, 40 medium loads and about 26 large loads.
  • You only need 1 TBSP per small load, 2 TBSP for medium loads, and 3 TBSP for large loads.
  • The salt is to keep colors on clothes. Yes it’s safe on clothes.
  • After washing, leave your washer open for a few hours to air out the moisture. My machine has not had that musty smell since I started using this soap and stop being lazy with the lid. Same goes for the dryer.
  • I have a top loading washer.
  • I ONLY use the cold water wash.
  • I DO NOT put my jeans, dresses, and tops in the dryer. It also keeps the colors longer and prevents shrinking. Everything else I still dry by machine.

Places I found these info:

Posted on October 22, 2012, in DIYs & Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

